Handling Stallions

Theresa_F

Visit site
Two girls at our yard - 14 are about to share a french stallion who is about 19. They said they think he is a standard bred.

I have little experience of handling/riding stallions, and the ones I have encountered have been fine but they were very well trained.

I have been taught to treat with respect and be aware that they can change moods quickly and are inclined to be handy with front legs and teeth on occasion. I also understand that they are more inclined to rear.

They say that under the saddle he is well behaved, he is an ex competition horse, dressage and jumping and has covered mares in the past and shares a field with another old mare.

I have advised them to be very careful handling him - and that stallions can be inclined to nip, strike out and rear. I also said I would strongly reconsider taking on a stallion and politely suggested that they are out of their minds to do this.

Their mum just smiled and said he is very nice and quiet apart from getting upset when the mare was bought in from the field before he was. She really is not very horsey at all and I don't think has a clue of the potential danger a stallion can offer to someone not used to handling them.

These girls are fairly novice - they have problems sometimes with the old 14.2 mare they currently share - and can be nervous of the 14.2 gelding in the field - two ponies that I have no problems with, hence am I correct to be concerned about them?

airedale

Visit site
stallions pick up on body language and should be handled by confident people. I would suggest that if these 2 have a 'worried' body language then this stallion will soon be in charge of them and not the other way round

however, if he's well behaved as they say then he should be fine with anyone else who is a confident and balanced horse-handler.

pity the poor mare that shares his field though - old or not I cannot see him leaving her alone entirely - shame