Have I been unfair?

metalmare

Visit site
I have been riding a pony for the past three months, once a week and mucking out in return. He has been deteriorating in health over that time and after a particularly bad hack a week ago I made the decision not to ride him again. I told someone on the yard and as this is a big yard (40 horses) by pure coincidence it happened that they needed help with their horse. But she has her problems too so we were unsure whether I would want a regular arrangement and left it that I would have a trial on her last Saturday.
Meanwhile I had spoken to the ill ponies owner and said that I wasn't happy riding him anymore. She protested, saying he had been great for her the other day - the best for a long time! She was pushy and said I should give him another chance. I agreed to muck out on the Saturday as it would give her short notice if I didn't but said I was in two minds about riding him and leaning towards not!!

When I rang last night to say that I wasn't going to ride him anymore but that I was to help with this new pony and therefore was more than happy to muck him out still (even though I wouldn't be getting anything from it) she was awful to me.

Basically she didn't believe that I had decided to stop riding him before I had been given the other offer and she thinks I dropped him for this other pony! She also thinks that I lied about his ill health because I didn't want to ride him anymore!!!! But if he wasn't ill I would still ride him!

It seems to me that she is very cynical, not hugely bothered about her ponies welfare and very unfair to call me a liar on three different counts!!

But perhaps you see it from a different perspective?