Headshaking questions - vetting etc

Archangel

Visit site
Help!
A friend is possibly buying a lovely horse that ticks all the boxes but... he wears a nose net to be ridden.

Apparently he is not a headshaker he just doesn't like flies up his nose. When he is first sat on that he has a few dips and snatches but once underway he is relatively steady with the odd flick.

To me it looks like established behaviour, albeit controlled with a net and I would possibly class him as a headshaker :confused: He doesn't need a net in the field, only when ridden so that suggests a bit of anxiety under saddle.

So questions
He is being 5 stage vetted - is this something that comes under a vetting and is it an automatic fail?
Can you compete (dressage) at riding club level in a nose net?
How much of a problem are headshakers? - it seems to be behavioural rather than allergy

He is such a lovely horse, my friend has asked for advice but I have no experience of headshakers so am no help at all!

Thank you in advance :)

natalia

Visit site
Not sure, as have this same problem myself! I have a mare who is very sensitive to dust and flies, she is a warmblood but has a very araby head hence very wide nostrils. She HATES midges and flies near her face and will flick, its only slight, but she's so much happier with a net on. She is also unhappy when worked in a dusty school, but fine out hacking. She will be for sale soon, and obv. I have to tell people but unsure of how it would go down on a vetting.

bexwarren24

Visit site
A headshaker would fail a vetting as a vet cannot determine the cause. We had a headshaker for sale once but we were completely honest with new buyers and vet who did the vetting and obv he failed. I'm not sure though the vet sould have known he was a headshaker unless they actually saw him do it. He only did it very occasionally so chances of them seeing it is unlikely.