Hello everyone!

JonM1978

Visit site
Hi, My name is Jon and I live in Sussex. I'm a rank beginner taking lessons (currently at the start end of the walk, trot, canter phase), so am looking to pinch all of your knowledge and experience! :) and of course make some horsey friends.

I'd like to get to a competent stage as soon as I can manage on a lesson per week, and get to the stage where I can share / loan a horse, which I guess will be some time down the line...

Sugar_and_Spice

Visit site
Welcome to the forum :) I've known people who try hard and are brave and have a good instructor to become competent novices within 6mths to a year. So maybe not as long as you think.

It may take a lot longer if you're having group lessons, are at a rubbish riding school (as a novice its unlikely you'd be able to tell!), lack confidence or are nervous, or have previously done no exercise. My neice does gymnastics and its given her good balance. I think cyclists do well too because they have strong legs which stabilises their riding position.

If you want to get a share horse some stable management experience is good too. Sometimes riding schools do lessons in it, or have a riding club attached where you may be able to get lessons if you join. BHS do "horse owners certificates" exams too which is just theory.

NeilM

Visit site
Another bloke on a horse, cool!

Once you have progressed to the stage where you are 'riding' the horse, rather than just kind of sitting there are reacting to what is going on, then you can really start to progress.