Help - Judging

cbmcts

Visit site
:eek: I've been volunteered to judge at a riding club show next week.

Looking forward to it but has anyone got any tips?

My background is in M&M s but the ring I'm doing is all ridden classes, everything from family pony, LR, cobs and riding horse...I'm not used to plaits and blingy things :p

Quick crash course required!

PS I'm not that dopey, just not really sure of all the finer points of those type of classes.

TIA

Pearlsasinger

Up in the clouds
Visit site
Just stick to your guns. It is quite likely that at least one competitor/parent will question your decision and while it is useful to give feedback/tips for improvement, you need to make sure that you do not find yourself justifying your decisions. I'm sure you'll enjoy it!

showjumpergirl

Visit site
Ditto the above. Also, at local level, classes tend to be won or lost on manners, behaviour and training rather than conformation or turnout. Just have fun, be nice and do not let bad losers spoil the event! :)

abina

Visit site
at local level you wont go far wrong with manners and a decent show.

for all the types, look here www.rehorses.com

Brilliant link - I'm in the same position at the bank holiday weekend - normally dressage judge but got roped in somehow - don't even remember saying Yes !! But Hey as my friend said ( county level judge) the judges decsion is final !! LOL

Sparkles

Visit site
I'd still mark for conformation, even at local level, in the show classes. Not really minor things sure, but certainly keep in mind for ovious thing like splints/curbs/other obvious knocks/dishing or other faulty action etc.
Will save for the complaints after of people not in the placings saying the winner dished/had spavins/etc.