HELP My chicken has maggots!!!

Dogstar

Visit site
Just panicked and totally sprayed her with tetracycline! Will it kill the maggots?? Cant recall the stuff that made the maggots pour off the sheep....thanks

Ella19

Visit site
I work as a trainee vet nurse. You need to get her to a vet tonight if you haven't already! This is known as fly strike and will kill her if you do not deal with it tonight, the maggots will eat her from the inside out. The vets will assess how bad it is, this usually involves clipping or in her case plucking the area, they will then either suggest euthanasia which is much nicer than being eaten alive i'm afraid, or they will be able to remove them with tweezers, and properly clean the area.

Dogstar

Visit site
Chicken update for the kind people who posted advice. I went out right after I posted, came back about 11.30pm to find tetracycline hadn't killed the maggots and the posts saying I should take her to the vet. Oooh dear. Anyway, I surfed frantically for anything that could kill maggots without killing the chicken (and that I had in the house). Hairspray! So I went out and covered my chicken with Harmony haispray and thought that I would take her the the vet in the morning if she was still alive. Well, this morning had a look and the chuck is loads perkier and the maggots (literally thousands of little ones) were pretty much all dead! So I cut off her feathers with scissors and washed the area with soapy water and a toothbrush- looks quite clean and OK now! So I will spray again with tetracycline for the wounds which arent too bad and I 'think' she might be OK?!

Saucisson

Visit site
I hope she's ok, I've been following the chicken story and didn't hold out much hope after the posts yesterday.

I absolutly hate maggots, gonna invest in some hairspray now, thanks for the tip. :)

lindsayH

Visit site