Hock arthritis treatments

Pinkvboots

Visit site
What does people mainly do now for low level hock arthritis? My horse last had them medicated about 2 years ago with steroid and I can't remember what else.

I could have them done again but have heard about cartrophen which I have no experience of so would like to know if anyone has used these and how they find them?

I also have to pay for this now as the insurance won't cover treatment now so a rough cost would be helpful, I will speak to my vet but am interested to know of other people's experiences please.

Tiddlypom

Carries on creakily
Visit site
Arthramid gel injections :).

Bit spendier than steroids, but less risky (no lami risk) and much longer lasting. Last ones were circa £720 for a pair. I’ve had gel injections in front coffins plus hocks on one horse, and just in the hocks in another. Very pleased.

ETA Both horses had previously had steroid hock injections, which wore off.

Cartrophen works very well for some horses, but is ineffective on others. It is definitely worth considering. If your vet will give you a prescription to buy the cartrophen on line and inject the horse yourself, that will save money.

Last edited:

HappyHollyDays

Slave to 2 cats and 2 ponies
Visit site
B has just had a course of Cartrophen for low level hock arthritis and I’m pleased with the results. He was struggling to get up and as a result wasn’t laying down as often. Very stiff going down hills and all his dressage comments were ‘isn’t supple enough’ He had 4 injections a week apart and I noticed a difference in him after about the 3rd one, he is far more forward in the school, pushes off on both reins more evenly and is really enjoying his jumping again. He has a review next month and if he needs a top up twice year to keep him comfortable then so be it. He’s only 12 so in theory has many years ahead of him.

Auslander

Visit site