Hoof boots - the lowdown please.

lindsayH

Visit site
I am considering using hoof boots as my horse's forefeet are not coping quite well enough with the amount of road work we do and for various reasons, I am reluctant to have him shod. I'd be greatful for any information about using hoof boots as I have no experience with them at all. I have heard they can cause some problems, including rubbing, is this true? How easy is it to measure up for them? They seem to come in an awful lot of sizes and I'm concerned it will be difficult to measure accurately. Are they easy to take on and off? Which ones are best? I've been looking online and the selection available seems bewildering! What have people's experiences been when using them? All information gratefully received!

kerilli

Visit site
i had a pair of Marquis Supergrip ones on a big WB horse and was very impressed with them. the bit around the bulbs of the heel can be inflated with a small hand-pump (the horse was a spooky git but even he coped fine with this) to secure them, so there was never any rubbing. they'd turn a tiny bit occasionally if i hadn't done them firmly enough, but even then he was absolutely fine with them, never reacted.
he never wore through them, but if he had, various parts of them (flat part under foot etc) could be replaced iirc.
they stayed on fine through mud, at a canter, and even when he did an impromptu huge jump over a puddle (he wasn't supposed to jump at all), so i'd recommend them.

Zuzan

Visit site
I've found the best boots are Easyboot Gloves... good grip and conform well to hooves and really unclumpy (which is I think where most hoof boots to date fall down) .. There's a trick with gloves using athletic tape .. http://easycareinc.typepad.com/from_the_horses_mouth/2009/04/index.html This makes them very very secure..