Horse Over Jumping - should I buy?

Cubbini

Visit site
Hi all - I’m looking for some advice please. What are your opinions on buying/owning a horse that overjumps? I feel that although I’m a competent novice there is still work to be done on my seat and balance in general. My concern on owning one like this is that I could lose balance and become unseated (The horse in question can go a whole lesson without over jumping and then the next time do it regularly, or just add in the odd one that catches you off guard!)

Background: I’m on the verge of buying a horse however it’s very apparent that he over jumps both SJ and XC. He is not what I would class as typically green, he’s been jumping for many years (is 13 years old) and it doesn’t seem like a confidence issue. He does not over jump by much margin either it just seems to be his style that he is very bouncy. He is not rushing the fence although can hang in the air so would not be the fasted on the clock. The horse is brilliant in every other way and I feel would be great especially for my main main focus areas of Dressage with some hacking (jumping would not be my main focus).

The seller feels the horse should be top money but would this be regarded as an issue? The horse has competed BE roughly 10 times, has had very mixed results but has won one event and is rated 4star. It has unseated other riders.

Would you buy a horse like this?

Also if you own one what advice or training would you suggest?

be positive

Visit site
Hard to say without seeing him but a few alarm bells would ring with a 13 year old that is inconsistent I could suspect something physical such as hocks just starting to show wear and tear which may show up in the flexion tests at vetting, as for whether it will suit you if it has actually unseated more experienced riders I would be a little worried your confidence could suffer if it continued but for hacking and dressage it should be ok if genuinely sound.