Horses with Equine Metabolic Syndrome (EMS)

Pancakes

Visit site
Has anyone have/had horses with EMS?
how long did it take to diagnose and what routine do you undertake to manage the condition?
i am currently in my final year of uni and doing my dissertation. I am looking at EMS and whether the use of Body condition scoring would provide an indication of early diagnosis or highlight predisposition to a horse contracting EMS.
Any other useful info would be greatly appreciated:)

chocolate brownies for all, nom nom:D

superpony

Visit site
My horse has EMS, I actually had no idea he had it, he went to the vets for a lameness work up and he just wasn't himself. My vet knows him well and found him sweating in the stable by dinnertime (very unlike him) and realised he wasn't his normalself and seem depressed and unhappy.

So whilst he was there the vets tested him for EMS and cushings. Found out he has EMS, he is managed by 10 x metaformin tablets a day. I keep him on the thin side and in spring/summer he is a bare paddock due to the risk of laminitis.

If you want any more info on him just let me know. :)

texel

Visit site
I'll be brief the history is too long. I have a 11.2 mare with EMS. She is 13 now and was diagnosed at 6 after a blood test. Initially she came down with lamnitis and although she gradually improved with careful management but I just couldn't get it right sometimes. Hay was particularly difficult as it varied in quality and composition.

She is thin I would say condition 3-4.

I was going to have her PTS earlier in the year. Despite careful management I could not get her 100% sound and keep her sound, yet despite the pain she battled on.