Horsey jobs...? Animal related careers...?

DreamOfNoReturn

Visit site
I seriously want to work with animals when I'm older, but I have no idea which jobs would be best for me.

I'm more of a hands on person and would prefer a job where I can get stuck into the work. I adore all types of animals, especially horses and dogs so something like that would be amazing.

Anyone know of good animal related careers :)?

Jesstickle

Visit site
I know three vet nurses and they all love their jobs. I wouldn't even mind being one myself but sadly I already have a non horsey career and am getting too old to change now! :)

DreamOfNoReturn

Visit site
I was considering that, but I'm not so sure I would enjoy being a vet nurse. I'm not too good with cutting things open and that sort of thing. I have recently been considering doing falconry :) as birds interest me :D!

Visit site
If you have the intelligence then only do horses or animals for a year before going to uni or college. It's the one regret I have - that I didn't go to uni. I started in racing when I was 16 as a gap year before going into Uni. 7 years later I am still doing the same thing. I love my job, I really, really do but I also wish I had gone into further education.

DreamOfNoReturn

Visit site
I plan on going to college or uni to do something animal related and then to get an animal job. I have considered working at a racing yard, but I'm not too sure if I would entirely enjoy it. What does you job involve? Thanks for the replies guys :)

Visit site
In racing it depends on what yard you go into and for what job. Most jobs are for work riders, then you get the yard people, the people who take the horses to the races and the secretaries.