How do they look - 6 weeks barefoot

ownedbyaconnie

Visit site
Hi,

took mare’s fronts off 6 weeks ish ago and she’s been fine! Hacked a couple of times over stoney paths, fields, mud and no bother!

I took this photo yesterday to send to my farrier to see if he thought she was due a trim as I’m still a barefoot newbie. Originally he said he’d see her after 8 weeks to give her hoof a chance to grow (she’d had new shoes put on a week or so prior to going barefoot but threw a shoe and with lockdown I decided to try barefoot there and then!). It’s not a great photo, will take better ones today but just fancied hearing comments from people with far more knowledge and experience than me!

this is her left front. As you can see she’s got some dramatic chips from the nails holes. I have been spraying sole, frog and the chips with red horse sole cleanse and using Kevin bacon hoof oil maybe twice a week as she tends to get very dry flakey hooves in summer. If we have a long period of no rain I will give her hooves a little blast with the hose. I think I’ve taken the photo from a weird angle, what’s the best way of taking photos for showing hooves??

feed wise she is on a small handful of pony nuts and honeychop lite and healthy chaff so I can give her her vit&min, mag ox, pollen supplement and agnus castus. 2F304FCD-29C2-49E0-9ABD-4B5A156832AC.jpeg

ownedbyaconnie

Visit site
Take a look at Paddy555's reply to the flat footed thread :)

amazing, thank you! Will do that today and add more photos.

When the farrier comes do not let him trim anything other than the edges where the nail holes were, the foot will benefit from more stimulation so get her out on the road if you can then the frog will start to beef up and the deep clefts should start to fill in.

trying to avoid road hacking during lockdown. Will hacking on tracks/fields and normal riding in school help?

Reacher

Visit site