How do you sell a horse??

Halfpass

Visit site
Ok so now the decision is made i've gotta sell him. Need to get him advertised before i change my mind. Where should i advertise, what type of photo's should i put, should i sell with or with out tack. I need help ++++++ as i have never done this before. I know the selling market is slow but i am prepared for this. Is this the right time to be selling a hunter? Also is it ok to vet homes prior to selling?
Thanks again guys you all make it that little bit easier.

SpruceRI

Visit site
HorseMart is really good as it's only £10 per horse to put it on the Internet and it's in immediately. Also, you can put in upto 3 photos and as much wording as you want. For a bit extra, you can have one photo and part of the ad in the HorseMart free mag too.

Friday Ad's good, more likely to be sold to someone local.

Or H&H of course.

No reason why you can't vet the home, and if you don't like the people who come to try your horse, you don't have to sell it to them if they make an offer.

I'd say it's a good a time as any to sell a Hunter, before the cubbing season starts.

Hattikins

Visit site
With difficulty
mad.gif
frown.gif
Just put ads up everywhere, on the internet sites , in local tack shops and feed merchants and through word of mouth. but nothing is shifting at the moment so you may have to be patient.

katiejaye

Visit site
I advertised my last horse in H+H and he was bought within a day! I had litterally hundreds of calls! The pictures depends on what you are selling the horse as..e.g. a SJ/dressage horse/hack. I was selling Murphy as a hack/pleasure horse so had a good head shot and one of him out on a hack looking pretty! Make sure the pictures are clear and show your horse at his best i.e. jumping or schooling. I sold Murphy with his tack and rugs as my other horse was a completely different shape so the tack wasn't useful to me.