How much exercise?

Grumpy Jewel

Visit site
Hi, I'm new to dog ownership and am after some advice. My OH's dog is an 8 month old mastiff x rotweiler who is the softest, daftest thing I'n the world. However, he has recently started to drive us mad. Due to our work schedules both dogs get crated for a maximum of 4 hours until my mum comes over to dog sit for a couple of hours. They generally go out for a 1/2 hour 40 min walk then roam around the house until she leaves and there's 2/3 hours until one of us is home. I know it's not ideal but we have to work and it's 3 Days a working week max as I'm part time. Recently he has started to get bored (I'm guessing) whilst crated as I came back from being out 3 hours and the crate looked like it had snowed as he had chewed his way through a 3rd bed I'n 5 weeks!
It's difficult to give an over view of exactly what they do per day, but we aim for at least 2 hours out proper walking or playing on fields plus the pottering about the house during the day.
Am I guaging this right I'n terms of exercise? He has toys, a kong( which is great once covered but doesn't last long) and pigs ears ect to occupy him, but the beds always taste nicer.
Any ideas?

FinkleyAlex

Visit site
2 hours sounds like a decent amount of exercise - especially if its split into two walks a day. Is there any way you could not crate him so he has the full day (while you are out to roam around?), this is what we did for our mally as she never took to being crated (and we tried so hard!) but was very happy to potter around for a few hours while we were out of the house. I would also say its an age thing - our mally at that age up until the age of about 18 months/2 years would chew things - carpet, chairs, tables etc but grew out of it and doesn't chew anything now. May also be a case of hormones coming through as he gets older - if you plan on getting him neutered at the appropriate age then this may help.