hunting

ceva

Visit site
Hi, I have been hunting my mare for six years, and I use a red ribbon all the time as she cow kicks a lot, she has never kicked anyone or another horse but I know she would if they get to close. I try to stay at the back but sometimes its impossible to, so i then return to back when i can. i have had confilicting advise while out, the master said stay at the back. the secretary says as long as you are showing a red ribbon it didnt matter where you are.,so i just use my inititive and hope its ok. Good luck and stay save

rema

Visit site
To be honest i dont think it matters where in the field you are as long as you have enough room so can get out of trouble should you get bunched up or somebody comes to close behind you.If anybody has any sense they will not get to close to a horse that is wearing a ribbon.At the end iof the day the ribbon is not there for a fashion statement.Welcome to the forum by the way. :grin:

winterhorse

Visit site
if you wear a red ribbon, you must stay at the back.
secretary isn't in charge on a days hunting, listen to the master.
you may have been lucky up till now, but by your own admission, you say your mare will kick. sorry to say it, but a kicker must be at the back.

JenHunt

Visit site
ditto eagle_day really - one of my friend's horses kicks at her tail when she gets sweaty and muddy (she's a very clean mare and never rolls!) but she doesn't do it if her tail is tied up.
It may just be that your horse doesn;t like a wet, muddy tail.

i would also agree with the others that if the master has said to stay at the back then that's the best thing to do, difficult as it may be at times! ;-)

ceva

Visit site