I need some sensible advice!

Izzwall

Visit site
Hi you lovely lot! I need someone sensible to help me with a decision. At the moment I'm siding with the 'f*** it it's Christmas' mentality 😂

A year ago last week I lost my heart horse in a horrific field accident. I've been looking on and off since but just hasn't been the right time or nothing has stood out. I do have my homebred who I adore and, although tricky and sensitive, is a nice ride though will never be more than a happy hacker. She suits the job perfectly and I keep her on a quiet farm on Dartmoor.
I work as a freelance groom, looking after private yards and livery yards. One livery I work at has offered free livery with fantastic facilities, transport and is a lovely yard as well. Homebred would not cope well in that environment so I'd rather keep her where she is especially as the hacking is beyond amazing!
So here's my dilemma! I feel like I'm ready to take on another after losing my Izzwall especially with the free livery. I've been torn with either another Welsh or an ex racer to bring on and potentially compete as I never really had the chance in the past. I retrained an ex racer some time ago and one of my life's regrets was selling her.
So I went to a race yard today with the OH as they were doing a yard tour with a potential share in one of the horses. I just came along to see if they had anything that didn't make the grade. Turns out they did! And he's a nice one at that, been treated well, not hammered, no vices, no injuries and looks an honest sort. Still young at rising 4. He's also got my OH interested as he wants to potentially point. Trainer thinks he may be good at this and with the all weather gallops at the livery yard it's something we could do.