I think I am in danger of becoming a dressage diva..........

sachak

www.pinkequine.com
on 20 May Chester and I did a Dressage masterclass for Your Horse with Shelley Brooks
crazy.gif
It was a last minute oppurtunity and given that I don't have a jumping saddle at the moment I would have been silly to turn some free training down. I have done a couple of dressage tests while I haven't had my jumping saddle just to keep Ches out and about. Our first test (walk and trot) we got 67% and our second (another walk and trot) we got 64% - now whilst I don't know if these are good marks or not but comparatively with the class they were very good.

When I got to the masterclass I was asked what I wanted to work on - and ideal oppurtunity to work on the judges comments from our two tests previously; straightness and relaxing (probably more my problem than his). And the other issues which probably contributed to the judges comments were hanging on my right rein and resentment of contact - especially in the canter which still needs alot of work.

The lesson proved very informative and I was very pleased with the results. We did so much in the trot we ran out of time, and Ches ran out of steam, to do any more. But the Your Horse writer and photographer were pleased - I was grinning from ear to ear and Ches was going well.

However, I have now found myself looking for more DRESSAGE shows! I have to keep reminding myself that I am a show jumper... I am quite enjoying this Dressage malarky and I do know that flatwork is the basis of my jumping but Dressage in itself is a whole different ball game and me, I am just soooo not stylish enough of a rider to complete the picture -

Am I in danger of becoming a dressage diva???? Is there a cure
confused.gif

The masterclass will be in the June issue of Your Horse which goes on sale on 18 June 2009.

Gosh... it's 08:58 - so a cuppa coffee and biccies if you get this far....

palomino_pony

Visit site