In hand showing... Am I mad?

ponyparty

Visit site
There's a little show local to me next weekend. I was going to go and cheer on some of the others from our yard, but I've just noticed the in-hand classes and am now wondering if me and Brcuey Baby should have a pop at it! Just for fun, like.

I have never done showing before. Help!

What turnout would be expected for "In hand any age any breed", "In hand sports/hunter type" or "In hand veteran"? Plaited up and tail pulled, I assume... Any specific bridle? Is a special in-hand one necessary? I only have a black full size (so might be too big for him) hunter bridle or his brown one with flash attachment.

And for me? Black horse, so I know the rule about pale trousers (having shown a black and tan dog). What else?! What shoes/boots?

And what the heck does one do, in the ring? Ridden showing you have to do a little show for the judge I know, I've never even considered or paid that much attention to in-hand though! Is it just a trot-up when they ask you?

Highflinger

Visit site
If it is just a small local show it will probably be very relaxed. I am doing a small in hand class this weekend and I will use my usual bridle which is a plain brown with a caverson noseband and rubber reins and plain browband. ( what I am hacking over in). I will be in an ancient tweed hacking jacket, cream jods, black rubber long boots, ancient cream string gloves and a cream rollneck jumper ( I don't have a stock) and my usual riding hat. My show will be a simple run up and back to the judge in trot. Pony who is native ( cream dun) is untrimmed ( never had the scissors anywhere) unplaited and exactly as nature intended. He will be bathed and well brushed but the hack over is very dusty so won't be very clean by the time we arrive!