Is it too soon?

matthew

Visit site
I have spotted an advertisment in a horsey mag for someone who is looking for a sharer for their horse but they dont want any cotribution towards upkeep! i havnt ridden for about for years due to not being able to afford my own any more and a havnt fancied going back to a riding stables- it does state that the horse is not a novice ride but i am not a novice i have been riding for years just had a big gap!! basically i just wondered if this was your horse would it put you off that i hadnt ridden for a few years? i have never come across such a seemingly gooddeal before-is this something any one else has done??? any opinions-i wont be offended! thanks!

samp

Visit site
The fact you have not ridden for a long time may put someone off. You may find when you get back on you're quite nervous and forgotten things - trust me we all do

Claireg9

Visit site
i had a bit of a gap and am riding a nutter now... dont worry about it. if your confident i wouldnt tell them you've had a gap... they'll want to vet your riding no doubt first anyway so let them decide if your good enough or not!!!

matthew

Visit site
Thats what im nervous about really-i mean how do i know i wont get my foot in the stirrup and freak out! and how do i know they need a sharer coz no other bugger can ride the thing?? that would be a great start getting dumped the minute i get on!
I thought that about the not novice ride i would have put that about any of my previous horses as i wouldnt want muppetts -she also put adults only so that kind of backs it up!
One other thing is they say their is an oputunity to compete in long distance riding- gulp!! i did show jumping and know absolutly sod all about endurance????

tuscanyD

Visit site
Speaking as someone who has shared my horse - I'd just be honest.It wouldn't put me off if the person was nice and had a good attitude. Plus depends on the horse and how you get on with it. One mans novice is anothers expert!