Is this my imagination? Farrier/foot query.

Illusion100

Visit site
My lad has cracking feet and is barefoot.

He gets trimmed a couple of times a year (previously regularly while growing but now rarely needs anything other than a tidy).

A few horses on yard were being seen by farrier that day and YO happy to hold mine for a trim instead of a 1hr 30 min round drive for me to do it.

Saw my horse and thought he was standing a tad pigeon toed which is odd as he's usually straight as a die. Decided it was a trick of the light so to speak. Looked again next day and again he looked turned in in front, so started to think about it and now got myself confused.

I'm no foot expert by any means but I've never known of a horse end up noticeably looking toe in after a tidy trim?

I don't like it but sure if I'm concerned about it more than I should be. It's not like it's affecting growth plates and he'll wear himself even within a short time but that's not the point.

Now I have doubts about using that farrier and any muscular effect until he levels himself out. Can't decide whether to have another farrier out to have a look and file level or whether it truly is my imagination.

Please tell me if I'm going mad or he's been poorly trimmed as I can't decide! Just to add, I am incredibly picky. I dare say most wouldn't notice it but I feel like it's glaringly obvious!

How drastically has a trim altered your horses stance and how did you feel about it?

ester

Not slacking multitasking
Visit site
How do they look if you pick them up and 'sight' them down the frog from the toe, ie does each side look the same level?

Is he doing road work to stay self trimming? If anything like mine/few others he will undo anything he doesn't like pretty quickly so I wouldn't worry too much yet.

Illusion100

Visit site
How do they look if you pick them up and 'sight' them down the frog from the toe, ie does each side look the same level?