Job/staff/interview nightmare!!!!

Tapir

Visit site
not in the horse industry but we have been trying to take on some telephone staff at work for months. The pay is £8 per hour, school term times only and we are really struggling. We have arranged so many interviews only for people to not turn up. The application letters and emails we get are appalling.

So many people would very clearly stay on the dole rather than get off their backsides and do some work.

noblesteed

Visit site
I don't think working 8-12 is unreasonable, you would finish on lunchtime and then the person could have the rest of the day to please themselves. Starting at 8 am isn't an unreasonable request! As a teacher I often get to school around that time. I would expect most shift workers would tell you 8am is a lie-in to them!!!!! And if the applicant did have kids, wouldn't they qualify for working tax credit wotsits and free childcare etc anyway?
That's our government for you, making it all too easy to sit on your backside and get paid for doing nothing.

Goldenstar

Visit site
OP could you make the hours flexible to attract different people ? Ten years ago I took on a mum with a five year old who had just started school she did around five hours then with hours to suit her it was a nuisance when her son was sick or in holidays . Ten years on her son is fifteen and she runs the yard she a marvellous girl and one ofbthe family now.
So few hours mean its someone with kids looking for a few hours or someone with a horse looking for a bit of income it's not enough hours to be someone's main job so you may have to be flexible.

OFG

Visit site