Leaving the dreaded word ‘novice’

merlin84

Visit site
Would love to hear others’ stories on how you progressed beyond ‘novice’ if you didn’t grow up in a horsey family.

I have been riding at riding schools consistently for past three years but did periods of lessons as a child and an adult before that (had a baby which halted progress temporarily!)

Am currently working on low level jumping (50-70cm) and leg yield on the flat and have done equestrian holidays where I have been lucky enough to do some great gallops!

However I still have days where it feels everything goes wrong e.g. I’ll get a RS horse that is completely behind my leg or conversely had one the other day who was trying to buck his way around the school!

Am sharing a horse at the moment because I seriously want to leave riding schools behind and move more in the direction of a good trainer/clinics and working with one horse consistently not a different one every week but how do you know when you are ready to take the big leap?!

paddi22

Visit site
Its always handy to get a private lesson with a good instructor, and have a tailored progress plan of what you are working through.

If its any consolation im riding over 35 years and i still have days where everything feels wrong and I feel useless, that feeling doesn't go, ever!

merlin84

Visit site
Yes I mostly have private lessons and I do rate my instructor in terms of teaching but definitely don’t have a progress plan unfortunately as they are a bit disorganised. I really want to just ride the same horse and get to know them a bit as it seems to be a different one every week at the moment. Was doing really well with one ex-show jumper but he is lame atm 😔

merlin84

Visit site
I also do feel there is a confidence issue there- I always have the voice on my shoulder saying that the reason something has gone wrong is because you are a rubbish rider!

Ambers Echo

Still wittering on
Visit site