Leg care after strenuous exercise.

EllieBeast

Visit site
Well Hellooo, as some may/may not know, i am planning to do the milton keynes 3DE this september. now, this is my first ever 3DE, and i really want to do everything right. I have never done roads and tracks before, and am fully aware of the toll the second day of competition can take on a horses legs.
i was going to grease Ellies legs up for the xc phase (applying it in the 10 minute box). can anyone reccomend a good quality Event grease that is relatively easy to wash off afterwards?
Also, i feel that i should use a cooling paste/clay once the day is over. again, any recommendations. do i bandage over it? how long should it be left on? also, would it be ok to use whilst turned out, as Ellie isnt in the temp stables (she would demolish them) but in a small paddock.
thankyou in advance, and sorry for all the questions! 0 i just want to do all i can to prevent damage.
(also forgot to say that she will be booted upto the eyeballs for this phase too)
Sarah xXx

Nari

Visit site
I went to a 3 day a few years ago & a lot of horses were standing with their legs in tubs of iced water ater the xc & before the run up the next morning. I think you'd have to practice at home first though, these horses looked old hands & were quite happily standing munching hay!

I don't know a lot about cooling pastes etc, if I feel the need to do anything I hose then put on arnica & witch hazel gel.

Bossanova

Visit site
Personally I hate the clay things, esp after xc when you need to monitor the horses legs carefully.
I prefer to wash them well in cold water and use a gel such as tendon cooling gel. check them regularly until last thing and put stable bandages on just before you leave her

EllieBeast

Visit site