Lorries + Dodgy garages

evsj

Visit site
Just enquiring as to whether any peeps have had problems with garage repairs to their horsebox in the last couple of years.....

I won't go into detail as I am gathering evidence etc... But I am preparing to confront a garage near me who I used to do repairs on my lorry last October, charged me the best part of a grand and then, low and behold my lorry failed it's plating last week on the very thing I paid to have fixed. So I have been driving around for the last 6 months with an extemely serious fault that could have caused an accident and loss of lives completely unawares because as far as I was aware the fault had been fixed.

I currently have an independent engineer surveying the work that should have been done and expect to pick up his report tonight. Then, me and a friend are going round to the garage armed with information from trading standards and consumer protection to seek some form of compensation.

I am a little nervous about this - I have already heard stories about upset people who have confronted this garage (if only I had heard these stories before!) and who have been shown the door. Just wondered if anyone had been stung in a similar way and how they dealt with it?

I am preparing to take legal action if I get no joy tonight (am looking to be reimbursed the original cost - not letting this garage touch my lorry again!!) because the fault is so serious that I am concerned some other girly-with-a-horsebox is going to be taken for a ride like me.
mad.gif

Fortunately my current engineer has declared he can fix the problem for less than half the cost of the first place (and in less than half the labour hours than they invoiced me for) so hopefully all should be fine for next weeks re-test!!

Any advice more than welcome
confused.gif

catembi

Visit site