Lower leg position and spurs...... thought/ opinions?

Bay_Beasty

Visit site
Just to ask a question really. I have been riding for nearly 23 years (since I was 2) and only started using spurs when I had a very secure lower leg position, working on seat, lots of lunging with no hands and stirrups,and work with no stirrups to secure seat before I even thought of using spurs and the first time I did it under instruction and didn't hack/ jump in them until secure in their use in the school. Just wandered about your thoughts on this?

I don't like seeing spurs on in secure lower legs but that might just be me and my paranoia :eek: :D

*hic*

village idiot :D
Visit site
I agree with you 100%

Having come through Pony Club and had a daughter go through Pony Club I'm used to people not wearing spurs until their instructor can convince the DC that their leg is secure enough or they have their B Test - and their leg position should be secure to pass that.

I'm also used to parents badgering the DC for their child's spur permission and being very upset when it's not forthcoming after consultation with their instructor.

I don't like seeing them on insecure legs and I especially don't like seeing them used by children who are proficient at the Pony Club kick and use it with spurs on.

Kokopelli

Visit site
I totally agree with this! I hate seing people without a good leg position riding in spurs I had lunge lessons like you before I rode in them and even then they were very short dummy spurs.

I see a lot of children doing BS under the age of 12 in spurs and even the best young child is not that secure in their seat. I have even seen some kids at pony club punishing their ponies with spurs and the instructor doing nothing about it.

But then again when I was 16 I did a 16 and under dressage and actaully got eliminated ofr wearing spurs so it was good they were enforcing it, I was a bit peeved no one told me beforehand no spurs were allowed :p