Management of new foal and mare tips

lirving804

Visit site
Hi, I asked friends who have bred many foals, is it worth paying to go on the new foal management course or mostly common sense and pick their brains instead? They told me mostly common sense and will give me some tips. However despite asking and even offering to pay they are not so willing to sit down and help.

I’m sure most of it is common sense and of course my vet will advise on the health related management. However it’s perhaps the simple things that I have no idea of that I would like to know in advance. Eg ensuring my paddocks rolled. That I have a supply of straw etc. I know simple but although I am very experienced with horses I have no experience with foals. I am foaling down at a local stud and I will ask him too this week as my final straw. In the meantime I just wondered if anyone could give me some practical tips.

These are all example questions and by no means exhaustive:eg travellling back from stud I presume not tied up and no partitions. When home how long to turn out. Turnout in just post and rail. How much handling and imprinting. ( Again I thought I had someone lined up for this with payment but she seems to not understand I’m a planner and like to pay for an hour or so of her time to discuss and check ) eg headcollar or special foal halter ( as I say no idea) I’m not stupid however I’m never afraid to ask and I am totally disappointed with the lack of help despite me asking. How long do you turn out for, best bedding, what to feed, how to start weaning( do I need to make a separate area to control feed) feet trimming, when to wean, best way to.

I know it sounds like I shouldn’t have bred ! I truly wish I had gone on the flipping course. I’m so sure most of it common sense. I have my own place and don’t want the expense of sending her away with new foal as I want to learn.