Manual or auto, Towing with q3/q5

Warmblood95

Visit site
Hi there I'm new to all this so wanted some advice for getting my first tow car.
I will be towing one 535kg horse in an I for 510 1000kg trailer so 1535kg altogether
I was interested if anyone tows one horse with an Audi q3 2000kg towing capacity and weighs 1700kg
Am I okay to tow with this or am I better getting the bigger q5.
The q3 I'm looking at is automatic with a 187bhp engine and Quattro 4x4
Does anyone have a similar set up and what tow cars so you use?
Also any thoughts on manual or automatic?
Thanks in advance for your help :)

Midlifecrisis

Visit site
OH has q3 4x4 ..he just said he wouldn’t tow with his..it has the power and torque but is small in relation to the the trailer and feels it would be too borderline. Just his opinion of course..he bought me a Ford Ranger Wildtrack to tow mine....

Tiddlypom

Carries on creakily
Visit site
I have a 510, they are great trailers but they are big. I don’t know either of the tow cars your propose, but if you have the option to do so, size up. The tow car needs to boss the trailer at all times, inc lorry grooves, tricky hill starts at junctions and in cross winds

Our LWB Shogun barely notices my 650kg IDx mare in the 510.

Reactions: tda

Northern Hare

Visit site
Hi WB95! If you scroll up to the top of the Competing & Training Forum (ie. this page), you'll see a stickie for Towing Clinic, which is run by ROG who is an expert on anything towing related.

Just off the top of my head, I'd say that a Q5 is better suited to the 510, but there's lots of things to take into consideration - loaded weight vs the legal towing capacity of the car - and your driving licence. But I'm sure ROG will be able to advise.

ETA: Just spotted that you've already found the Towing Clinic! :)

Last edited:

ROG

Visit site
Do you have a B+E on your licence?

Towing thread link below in signature - have email alerts for that thread