Mud fever supplement???

TallulahBright

Visit site
Has anyone used a supplement which actually prevents mud fever? I've seen loads advertised but money is short and i don't want to fork out for something which is ineffective. Advice gratefully received- thanks from Mum of a pink skinned white legged skewbald TB!!

Archiepoo

Visit site
i always use turnout boots (equichaps) and theyre a one off purchase and really work, heard good things about keratex powder .x

DougalJ

Visit site
Personally I would waste your money on supplements. I have been battling mud fever with my gelding for 7 years now and spent way too much on supplements that do not work. Keratex disinfectant and powder are great and maintenance is the key. I am however going to look into homeopathic treatments this winter as had good results with other ailments.

tallyho!

Following a strict mediterranean diet...
Visit site
Agree with extra vit e from various sources as posted by MrsD, zinc and copper are important for skin. Also, don't feed to much starch/carbs in my view.

I have taken advice from Evelyn off of here and recommended Nizoral shampoo for my friends two who have mf... all ok after two weeks as described! I also put a copper/mag lick in the field (laminaze and normal copper block).

I have used homeopathy as a last resort for my own horse two years ago... also brilliant results and none since (fingers x'd!) but diet has also changed to a more mineral/vit balanced one i.e. over supplementing can also cause harm so be careful what you use... look into vit/min balancing according to current diet and cut out starch as much as poss.

DougalJ

Visit site
Agree with extra vit e from various sources as posted by MrsD, zinc and copper are important for skin. Also, don't feed to much starch/carbs in my view.