Nappy horse

BacollisMum

Visit site
Wasn't sure where to put this as I'm not new to horses, in fact I've been riding for 26 years on and off and have owned my horse for 10 years - having said that I definitely don't know it all and am still learning so need some thoughts on this please!

Anyway I have just taken on a new pony on loan, he is a 14.2hh cob and seems fairly nervous in new surroundings, after only a short time he has settled into our daily routine. I took him on as a happy hacker and as we don't have a school or suitable field to ride in that is all I do. As we are on a small yard there aren't always others to ride out with so I need to be able to ride out alone.

I took the new boy out today for the first time having given him a few days to settle into his new home and it was a disaster, he napped...... a lot! So he slowed right up, didn't respond to the leg or crop and then tried to spin, I felt that coming so he failed on the spinning which resulted in him walking backwards, I gave him a little more rein and gently kicked on, more walking backwards and stopping, we turned circles and generally didn't go anywhere other than all over the road until eventually he walked forwards. Now I've dealt with my fair share of napping over the years, so it doesn't scare me and I am aware it generally means a lot patience and determination. I won every battle and we only turned for home once I felt I had control and the decision was coming from me. On the way out the road markings were the scariest horse eating monsters ever, funnily enough on the way home they did not present a problem at all.