nappy mare

phoebelgrant

Visit site
hi Im new to all this forum stuff but have been reading for a while and was hoping you could give me some some help with my mare.
Well she is an 8year old warmblood who iv had for 4 months the problem is that sometimes she will ride away quite happily but other times she naps very badly and has started to rear and buck.
I think the problem is Psychological rather than physical as i have had the back man to her and apart from slightly stiff hip nothing else was wrong. however i do think she is worse when she is in season so perhaps hormones are to blame although i have tried her on a moody mare supplment with no noticable difference.
she lives out is fed alfa-a, sugar beet and d and h pasture mix.

monica123

Visit site
umm....i had a mare on lan who used to rear and buck badly, it turned out she had a bad back, but she still did it when it was better, i just kept relaxed and concentrated, and she got better and better with work! good luck, sorry im not much help!

Clodagh

Visit site
I think the key word is warmblood. I'm sure there are some who aren't nappy, but I've yet to meet them. Persist, and you'll get there!

acolvine

Visit site
Hi,

My mare had back issues and it caused her to start napping when being ridden. She would plant herself on the spot and threaten to rear then just jig jog and refuse to engage when schooling.
I had a few sessions of physio with her which seemed to sort the problem out but it did take time.
It took ages for her to accept the pain had gone before i could get her to work normally again. She now has regular massage sessions as it helps to keep her muscles supple and relaxed which in turn has a calming effect on her.
Back on track at last but unfortunately riding through the subsequent tantrums was the only way. Just be patient and im sure you will get there.
You could try using NAF Magic or temperelax to take the edge off. Its the only calmer ive tried that actually worked.