Nationals or not?

alainax

Visit site
First may I apologise that this sounds ungrateful! I am new to this, looking for some advice. Somehow, by a wing and a prayer my gorgeous gelding and I have qualified for the dressage nationals.

I got him 3 years ago , very green,beautiful unspoilt Friesian. We had one year of getting to grips with the basics, one year off as I had a baby, then one year back (still basics imo!)

We did a couple of competitions just for experience, then to my great surprise qualified for the Regionals. He did amazing in the regionals and I have my 5th place rosette hung with great pride.

Today we got an email to say that when have qualified for the nationals !

I am so very proud of him, and all that we have accomplished, but I don't think the travel is fair for him.

It would be a 9 hour minimum lorry drive. He would be a good boy and do as I tell him but right now I don't feel he owes that, if that makes any sense! He has been a very good boy, owes me nothing, and we are happy to potter on. But burning at the back I feel I have a feeling like if we don't go, we will be missing out.

Last edited:

FfionWinnie

Visit site
If he's a good traveller it should be no different to standing in a stable for him. Yes it's a long journey and will take some planning but if you want to go I would go. My horses are all completely happy to stand on the trailer munching hay. It's part of their lives and they don't own watches so wouldn't know if it was 9mins or 9 hours ;)

AdorableAlice

Visit site
Well done for qualifying. If you feel he is not quite ready I would not take him this yea but aim to get him there next year. Travel wise it is a long way, you would need to have two lorry drivers if you did it in one day.