Naughty Bad Cob Blob Goes to a Show! (Show Survived!)

JAK

Visit site
Went to a local show yesterday & MD decided she would enter 'Novice Junior Rider' (for complete beginners to showing etc.) - no idea why but she spent weeks practising to get him to behave etc! (Refused to wear jodphur boots, presumably feeling 'safer' in her long riding boots in case he decided to play up! LOL)

Spent two days washing & preening him (he was good as gold!), chalked him through etc. on show morning (despite the foul weather!) & was at least rewarded by neighbouring peoples' comments of "Wow, lovely, how on earth did you get him so clean?" as he came off the lorry! *beams proudly*

Unfortunately, he became very stroppy when SJ friend decided to take her horse 'for a walk round' & he started shrieking like a banshee & getting dangerously over-excited!
Went to get a coffee when MD came running for OH on the instructions of YO, who'd told her "Go & get your dad NOW...I can't hold onto him much longer!"
shocked.gif
blush.gif

Apparently a horse had slipped as someone had put their ramp down & the almighty bangs that ensued had initially spooked him but as he'd gone to run, YO had grabbed him & hung on for dear life!
After much cantering & plunging on the spot, he then threw a violent tantrum at being restrained & started striking out with his front legs & then rearing, at which point YO told MD to GET OFF, as in "Get your feet out of the stirrups & JUMP for it!"
(It was then she sent poor child to fetch hefty 17 stone OH to anchor him down, as CB's favourite MO is to spin round a few times, pick a direction & just GO, whether you're holding on or not & YO could see he was about to disappear at any moment, so was understandably panicking somewhat!)