Need advice on feed for rescued Spanish horse

Ailah

Visit site
Hi I have a 6 year old Andalusian, only been in country since end of July but not gaining much weight. Is recovering from foot abscess which has knocked him back again, but I will be responsible for purchasing his feed from the end of the month and so would appreciate some advice from anyone who has been in similar situation. At the moment he has 2 feeds a day of grass nuts, copra, micronised linseed and carob plus a cup of sunflower oil. Long story behind all this but any advice greatly appreciated. He has been wormed. Thank you

Ailah

Visit site
I am not experienced enough to be able to say specifically, the vet estimated he weighed 450kg when he did his passport paperwork but he has lost weight since then. His ribs & hips are sticking out again. He lives out,the person I rent field from believes in keeping everything as natural as possible. He has lightweight rug on as he has no coat as such but does have open barn he can go in. He shares with 2 other horses & they have large bale of hay in there. He was head shy when he came over so only just been working on getting head collar on. The person that brought him over says it will be a year before he can be ridden.

Last edited:

Equi

Visit site
A lightweight coat will make him colder in this climate, and NOT help him one bit. He would be better with no rug than a light weight rug at the moment. He needs a heavier rug, and make sure he is actually getting hay and not being bullied away from the bale by the others.

Pinkvboots

Visit site
A lightweight coat will make him colder in this climate, and NOT help him one bit. He would be better with no rug than a light weight rug at the moment. He needs a heavier rug, and make sure he is actually getting hay and not being bullied away from the bale by the others.