New boots not waterproof

dixie

Visit site
After years of riding in short boots and chaps I've bought some long boots, mostly for competition.
They are Just Toggs Kensington which have false laces at the front.
Today I rode in them, basically to make sure they felt comfy, and gave them a quick splash with the hosepipe to get the dust off and immediately my feet were wet!
There is a bit of leather material underneath the laces but they are not stitched all the way around and there are big gaps into the actual foot (difficult to explain but hopefully this makes some sense).
Is this normal as there is no way they are going to be waterproof when it rains and I am wondering whether I can actually send them back now that they have been worn.

dixie

Visit site
I have no knowledge of this specific model of boot, but I would expect a boot to not let in water from "a quick splash with the hosepipe".

I know !!! It was literally a splash and I’ve just re-checked. They seriously let the water in ??‍♀️

dixie

Visit site
No I’ve re-read the details and it doesn’t mention waterproof at all. But then I’ve read a lot of different boot descriptions and hardly any specifically say they’re waterproof.
I’m going to speak to the retailer and see what they say.

ester

Not slacking multitasking
Visit site
i cant think how they would be waterproof with laces, i ve got some mountain horse lace up short boots that are waterproof walking through long grass but would let water in the lace up bit if i hosed them there so i just hosed round the bottom of the boot where i had walked in mud..
false laces are just for show, they have solid leather underneath (well mine do)

mini_b

Visit site
I have false laces on the front of my Ariats - I get what you mean about the bit of leather. I don’t think it’s glued/stitched all the way around either but I ride in all weathers and hose off quite enthusiastically in them and they don’t leak.