New horse nerves!

squidsin

Visit site
Hi everyone, I'm new to this forum and also to horse owning. I've ridden on and off all my life (with a big break in my 20s while I lived in London) but at the grand old age of 37, I have my first horse, a 10-year old 15.1 mare. I adore her but must admit I worry about her more than I do my two kids! She's quite a ploddy sort, which suits me just fine (that's why I bought her, being a novice, I chose a schoolmistress sort), but at the same time, she can be a bit spooky - she seemed to be terrified at first but has calmed down a lot in the month I've had her. Our bond of trust is developing and that's really lovely as she's not a horse that trusts easily (I suspect she may have been mistreated at some point, there are some old marks on her that look like whip marks to me). I've got her in a fantastic, small, supportive yard. Was doing pretty well, riding in the school and hacking, then on Sat, right at the end of a hack with friends, something spooked her and she set off full tilt down a hill, which resulted in me falling off. I only sprained my thumb and gashed my knee but got up and caught her OK, but it freaked me out a bit. I know these things happen - and will happen again - and I am a brave person most of the time, so what can I do/tell myself to get over my sudden onset of terror?!

Aarrghimpossiblepony

Visit site
Look at the positives.

"Well what is the worse that can happen?
The horse bolts down a hill and I fall off."

(pretty sure that before this happened, that's the kind of conversation you would have had with yourself)

So the worst happened, you are in one piece, the horse in one piece, she let you catch her.
Don't blow this up in your head so the event seems worse than it really was. Frightening at the time, but so are all sorts of things.

And if something similar happens again, chances are that it will have exactly the same non life threatening (both you and the horse) consequencies.