New lead-rein pony search begins...

lindsay1993

Visit site
Daughter, who is 4, is wanting to do more now & current pony just isn't up to it for various reasons, mainly that she is incredibly sharp and can be very spooky.

Current pony was sourced for us by someone else so this is my first time looking for a pony. It's a slightly complicated situation as although my daughter will be riding the pony & I will be doing everything else, I won't be having anything to do with cost/loan agreements etc and the pony will be living 1/4 mile away with the lady who is going to be responsible for cost/loan agreement etc. I will be paying for feed & feet but not liable for any medical fees. Strange situation, but it works for us as said lady needs a companion for her old horse and is more than happy to pay for the pony & any vets fees as long as pony is looked after & enjoyed by us.

I am looking for a loan only and so far everything I have came across for loan is either old, fat and laminitic, barely backed or far too big!

Local pony club DC is on the lookout for us, as are a few other friends.

Been looking for a while now and I am starting to feel a bit disheartened. I have enquired about ponies that sound great, only to find that they have only been sat on once in a field by a 1 year old child , one that is too nervous to allow men near, one that has sarcoids above its eyes but they can't be seen as it has a long mane.

I'm quite open when looking at horses for myself, but feel that lead-rein ponies are an even bigger minefield.

What should I realistically expect from a lead-rein pony??

:):)

Visit site