Novice 26

chestnut cob

community.webshots.com
So, in theory Rhyn and me are having a bash at our first Novice test in a couple of weeks. There's dressage on at the yard so I figured I may as well use it as an opportunity to get the first Novice out of the way (I've been promising myself I would have a go for the last 6 months!).

We're doing P13 and N26 I think. I've heard a bit about N26 (got a copy somewhere) and it sounds bl00dy complicated!
crazy.gif

How does it ride? Rhyn is generally going better now, when mum doesn't ride like a fool, so hopefully we won't disgrace ourselves! Just wanted a bit of advice about this test. The Prelim doesn't bother me as we've done loads of those.

Evadiva1514

Visit site
I did Novice 26 a couple of weeks ago, it actually rides quite nicely, the medium trot comes up very quickly, but apart from that the trot work in the first part of the test is fairly simple. In the halt make sure you are nice and square and that your halt is for 4 seconds. Once you have done your free walk you will be required to do your rein back, make sure you step back evenly and in rhythm and try to keep straight. (my horse struggles to keep straight but we managed it on this particular test!!). In the canter work i made the mistake of doing my 5m loops too shallow, so next time i will make them a bit deeper and the change of rein through trot is fine as it is on a half figure of eight so to speak... Good luck and i hope you both do really well!!

chestnut cob

community.webshots.com
5m loops in canter as in shallow loops - as a basis for introducing counter canter?

I'd actually forgotten all about the Medium trot, s***! Better get practising I think! I haven't done med trot for ages, we both started to get the hang of it and moved on to other things in lessons.

He does do rein back but snorts an awful lot, usually goes like a giraffe and never straight! Expecting us to get about 40%
shocked.gif
blush.gif

Ah well, at least we should be ok with P13!