Novice buying a youngster?

Livgrace500

New User
Visit site
I am a novice rider considering buying a young cob as my first horse. I have an ISH mare which belongs to a relative which I ride regularly at the moment but have been hankering after my own for some time.

I have seen a beautiful 14.2 cob for sale but the issue is he is only 15 months old. Am I mad or could this work?

I don't have any children and my job is a strict 9-5 so I have enough time to work on stable manners myself and would of course pay for a reputable professional to break him in when the time comes and for regular lessons. I have always thought it would be best to get a youngster so I can manage his upbringing, making sure he has good teachers and is well treated, and to observe his training so that I can learn myself but do recognise there is an element of risk when a novice takes on a young horse.

I am not a nervous rider and the cob is quiet for a 15 month old colt. He has not been gelded yet but will be gelded before he comes to me if I do take the plunge.

Any honest advice appreciated!

Leo Walker

Visit site
Your mad. Dont do it. How can he learn from you if you don't know yourself? Every interaction with a young horse teaches them something. I have the most laid back highland youngster. Nothing phases him. Yet the other day he reared up and tried to jump over the top of me. Everyone scattered and I dealt with it. It was easy for me as I know what to do and when, and I'm not phased in the slightest. Going by everyone else's reaction they wouldn't have wanted to deal with it.

Its all well and good having lessons, but what do you do in the moment when something happens and you don't know what to do or react inappropriately? You will be on your own almost all of the time.

For everyone's sake don't buy a youngster.

Lillian_paddington

Visit site