Numpty question about saddle pads

ecb89

Visit site
Sorry about the really stupid question but I'm new to horse ownership.
My horse has a working hunter saddle which came with him. If I want to buy a new saddle pad do I need the dressage square shape or the more forward cut GP shape.
So for Le Mieux you have the big dressage square shape, the GP and then the close contact. Im guessing it's the GP.
I sound so stupid. Sorry.

Leo Walker

Visit site
I've got a working hunter saddle and tend to use dressage shaped pads. I definitely use dressage in the Le Mieux.

Ignore the scruffy hairy pony! But thats a dressage pad under a WH saddle

14446050_10154060441178667_4023867943271204625_n.jpg

Last edited:

KittenInTheTree

Visit site
My horse has a working hunter saddle which came with him. If I want to buy a new saddle pad do I need the dressage square shape or the more forward cut GP shape.
So for Le Mieux you have the big dressage square shape, the GP and then the close contact. Im guessing it's the GP.

I have the dressage square for mine too, but that's because all we do at present is hack! If you were going to do any working hunter classes or other showing, then you'd need a GP one in a neutral colour :)

ecb89

Visit site
No plans on showing just yet. He's currently on box rest for the next few weeks as well :(
Any colour ideas. He does look good in baby blue

007Equestrian

Visit site
I have the dressage square for mine too, but that's because all we do at present is hack! If you were going to do any working hunter classes or other showing, then you'd need a GP one in a neutral colour :)

Or if you're competing in workers/showing ideally a working hunter numnah - these are designed to fit workers saddles closely.

http://www.lemieuxproducts.com/lemi...ng/lambskin-working-hunter-numnah-brown-brown