Ongoing management of horse with stifle issue

Tash88

Visit site
Hi - I'll try and keep this brief but I'm in two minds about moving my horse to a new yard and I'm v worried about making the wrong decision, as I have limited experience with stifle issues and ongoing lameness/rehab.

My horse had an arthroscopy in September 2019 that was followed by an initial box rest then a 7 month period of small paddock rest. As this was during the winter he was turned out in an all-weather paddock to avoid slipping in mud etc. The surface is quite gravelley, like soft road planings. The vet was happy with this.

He is now doing well and vet has said he can build up to cantering and schooling normally. He had steroid injections into the L and R stifles before starting the gradual fittening programme and the vet came to check on him every 5 weeks before walking under saddle and then trotting. All has seemingly gone well. Even though he could be going in the school more, I've decided that we will primarily be hacking now as it is better for him and he enjoys it more. My priority is to keep him as sound as possible for as long as possible and if that means we are happy hackers then so be it, even though he was intended to be my competition horse. I just want him to be healthy and happy.