Possible PSD....again.

Kadastorm

Visit site
Hey guys,

some of you may remember that my pony was diagnosed with bilateral PSD in the hind and navicular in front 2 years ago. After remedial shoeing, box rest, 3 x shock wave and lots of gentle work he came back amazing and hasn't had a days lameness. We have been out to dressage, show jumping and cross country and just been having fun!

His workload dramatically reduced over the past few months as I am currently studying for my final uni exams but last week when poo picking I noticed that he didn't seem quite right behind, particularly on his hind right. Yesterday, the girl who loans him took him out for a quiet hack and confirmed that he isn't ok so I got him out, trotted up and turned him on a circle and im pretty sure he has done it again...same symptoms but not heat or swelling.

For now I have put him on box rest and I am currently waiting for a call from the vets for advice. He is no longer covered by insurance and I do not have the money to put him through treatment again, all I can hope is that box rest and rehabbing like before may improve things.

Has anyone got any experience of going through it a second time? and not treating with surgery or shockwave? I always said that if he did it again I would give him the chance to recover through box rest and rehabbing but I cannot financially do the treatment all over again. After all, the pony was meant to be a project and was about to be sold when he went wrong and instead of following everyones advice to PTS i thought i would give him a chance.

The little ****** is my best friend and im so worried, i should be studying for my final exam before having to go to work tonight and all weekend but all i keep doing is researching PSD and treatment options, although the resounding prognosis im reading at the moment is not a good one!

Thanks for reading, its probably a bit of a ramble, i do apologise!

applecart14

Visit site