Possibly looking for sharer - advice please?

TreeDog

Visit site
I'm likely to be looking for a sharer my gelding, and hoping to get some advice on a few things.

He's a 15.2hh, 9 year old happy hacker ridden bitless, lovely to handle and very sweet natured. He's on DIY livery in south wales near cardiff. The yard does have an arena but the surface is poor. Hacking is reasonable, there's a quiet lane right off the yard for short rides and if you go for longer you can get off road into forestry/mountain but some roads can be a bit busy. He's great in traffic and generally a very easy ride but I don't think he'd suit a complete novice, unless maybe if they were just looking to do walk/trot hacking down the lane.

I'm looking for a sharer who could do every other weekend (friday evening to sunday evening). They could probably have a weekday each week as well if they wanted. I guess one of my questions is should I be asking for a financial contribution, and if so how much is typical?

The other thing would be legal/insurance matters. What insurance should a sharer have? And would it affect my horses insurance, would I need to declare to them that I had a sharer? I really have no idea!

YogaNurse

Visit site
I'm likely to be looking for a sharer my gelding, and hoping to get some advice on a few things.

He's a 15.2hh, 9 year old happy hacker ridden bitless, lovely to handle and very sweet natured. He's on DIY livery in south wales near cardiff. The yard does have an arena but the surface is poor. Hacking is reasonable, there's a quiet lane right off the yard for short rides and if you go for longer you can get off road into forestry/mountain but some roads can be a bit busy. He's great in traffic and generally a very easy ride but I don't think he'd suit a complete novice, unless maybe if they were just looking to do walk/trot hacking down the lane.