Puncture through tendon sheath at fetlock

scruffyponies

Visit site
My poor pony has hurt himself really quite badly. The puncture is fairly large, so draining well at present. Has been flushed, antibiotics, pain killers etc.
I am aware that this is life-threatening. Vet is to reassess after the weekend.

I have no experience with an injury like this, so assuming he isn't condemned outright; any tips for nursing / rehab care?
Has anyone else's pony/horse come through a similar injury without weeks in EH?

Visit site
What drugs is he on? You want him on strong anti-biotics for a start. I would try to avoid excess bute if any at all - you need to see how sound he is. So long as he stays sound you should be ok. If he goes lame an infection has got in and that's not good. I assume he is bandaged?

StowfordPress

Visit site
Mine had a similar injury, I don’t remember much As it was 4 years ago but can say she recovered really well and hasn’t had an issue with it since. Fingers crossed this will be the case for yours too :)

scruffyponies

Visit site
He had an antibiotic jab initially. I have to get a liquid oral one down him now.
He is on Bute to get the inflammation down, but we'll stop it after about 5 days... assuming we get that far.
He is bandaged. I had to travel him about 5 miles to get him home to a stable, which was a worry, but he loaded willingly, travelled quietly, and seems settled nicely in the stable. (he hasn't bee in since he was a foal).

Visit site
I would defos keep him in and only walk him out quietly round the yard a couple of times at either end of the day to make sure he is still sound. That's the key. If he goes lame get the vet back out, it may require flushing again which can hopefully be done at home.

In the long term he will be absolutely fine if everything goes as it should.

scruffyponies

Visit site