put my nerves at rest!!

Tempi

Visit site
will a horse fail a 5 stage vetting if its got a splint? its 3 months old (the splint!!) and has never made the horse lame, its tiny and on the off fore (obviously on the inside)....

someone please tell me it won't fail because of that..........my nerves aren't good at the moment................
crazy.gif

KatB

Visit site
Nope, it may be brought to your attention for showing etc, but otherwise, NO!! What you having vetted?! Have I missed something!?

JoBo

s11.photobucket.com
As long as the horse isn't lame, which you have said it isn't, it should not fail the vetting. I'm no expert but I do know that I sold Ella and she had a small splint and didn't fail the vetting.

Tia

Visit site
Well if you remember that vettings are not really a "pass" or "fail" kind of a thing. If the horse has a splint then yes it will be noted, however if the horse is definitely not lame then it won't be an issue.

kick_On

Visit site
it shouldn't, but it does depend on how high up leg and how big.
But if small and middle way down, i would say it would pass but it will noted and you'll get an exculsion on insurance

Tia

Visit site
Not necessarily. One of my horses had a splint but his leg was never excluded with my insurance company.

not_with_it

Visit site
I think it depends on the vet. My horse did fail for a splint even though she wasnt lame. Perhaps have a word with the vet beforehand and tell him that you are aware that its there but the horse has never had any problems with it.

Which horse are you buying? I must have missed something.

Tempi

Visit site