Qualifications and career paths

tashcat

Visit site
Hi,

Sorry I know this question is overdone, but I can't work it out from BHS website so I'm turning to you guys!

I'm about to take a year or two off a 'proper' job and will be working full time based at an event rider's yard. I currently have no horsey qualifications (apart from pony club C test if that counts!!), and I'm wondering if I should try get some at the same time? It seems I can either work towards groom or instructor qualifications, but I can't find anything anywhere suggesting I can do at a private competition yard rather than a college like Wellington. Does anyone understand the process and costs of this, and could point me in the right direction?

I have a degree and will likely turn back towards something boring and non-horsey in London in a year or two, but ultimately would prefer to work with horses (if only there was money in them!!), so I'm thinking it might be nice to start achieving some qualifications if I do ever decide to turn back to horses in the future. Or perhaps I'll move towards something management based in the equine industry so would be nice to have some official horsey foundations.. its all very up in the air!

Any advice etc is really welcomed! :)

teddypops

Visit site
You can do the BHS stages without going to college. It’s years since I did mine, so I don’t have any up to date info, sorry. You can find the exam syllabus on the BHS website somewhere.

tashcat

Visit site
You can do the BHS stages without going to college. It’s years since I did mine, so I don’t have any up to date info, sorry. You can find the exam syllabus on the BHS website somewhere.

Thank you! What level did you go up to/ would you say is worthwhile doing? And when you say you did yours, do you mean you did groom or instructor? I'm not sure which makes more sense to do!

teddypops

Visit site