Qualifying for HOYS SJ-- advice please

LittleRooketRider

Visit site
My new girl (Roo- 6yo) is quite green(ie flatwork and XC needs a lot of work plus some SJ basics eg. gridwork/bounces/jumping out of trot), however she is very scopey andhas done a lot of SJ up to and including 1.10 classes (BSJA). i got her in October and having though about targets, I'm thinking I would like to try and qualify for the bronze league thingy at HOYS 2015 (probably a tad overambitious) (figured 90-1.10 classes would allow me to establish partenership/and improve her basic training without wasting my time). I have never registered BSJA before, but have competed up to high levels unaffiliated.

Now given that I'm in my last year of Alevels (finally, ao would be able to compete a bit Jnauary-March (with a lot of weedling ;) ) and the probably not again till late June/July is it worth me registering in January (2015) and is there any chance of me coming close to qualifying for the semis or will the people qualifying be out every weekend throughout the year and winning every time??

The next year I would like to try and progress to foxhunters (silver?)

Other aims are to get a lot of XC schooling andconfidence under our belts plus do some unaffiliated ODEs before going BE in 2016 (Wow thats a scary thought, 2016!) But generally going with the flow

Do you think these are realistic targets?

:)

ljohnsonsj

Visit site
I've had a year out of BS to produce youngsters, but someone will correct me if i'm wrong, i think The leauges are about accumulating points for the semi's then the top however many qualify for hoys from the regional semis. So if that is right the people who are out the most accumulating the most points will go forwards to the semis ( so it would seem!)

LittleRooketRider

Visit site