Question about navicular

Hollyhorse

Visit site
What are the signs and symptons of navicular and what can be done if your horse has it? I know nothing about it but have been told there's a possibility my horse has it. Any help would be greatly appreciated! Many thanks
smile.gif

Llwyncwn

Visit site
Really sorry to hear that Holly. A rescue I have taken on has navicular. You will need to have x-rays done to confirm. As far as I am aware it is a degenerative desease, but certain suppliments/drugs can help to give quality of life. They can develop the desease at any age. My vet said that it is more often than not due to concussion to the foot. Im no expert but there are others here on the forum who will be able to offer better advice.

ThomasTank

Visit site
isnt it when the horse sort of tip toes. I remember a horse who had it and was still ridden. keep checking your posts coz someone will have good info for you. they may even send you a link
grin.gif

ihatework

Visit site
I am currently going through this with one of my horses.
Signs and symptoms vary enormously but horses usually present as lame. Navicular is usually seen in both front feet, the horse may present lame in one foot but when that foot is nerve blocked will go lame on the other. Symptoms I noticed in my horse were a deterioration in the quality of his paces, a reluctance to go off drops into water xc, and the occasional stop when jumping on hard ground (he never used to stop at all). His near fore hoof (one he presents lame on) also started to change shape slightly.
Navicular is a contentious disease as it is difficult to diagnose exactly where the problems lie, it tends to be given a more generic name of navicular syndrome, which covers a multitude of lameness possibilities in the navicular region, and is is also misdiagnosed a fair amount.