Riding Schools in Suffolk that take heavyweight riders

zoeshiloh

www.stowmarketanddistrictridingclub.com
My friend wants to learn to ride, but he is 16.5 stone. He has never ridden before, and is a complete beginner. Everywhere I have spoken to says they will only take 15 stone maximum. All he wants to do is learn to walk, trot and canter. He is not interested in jumping or dressage, he just wants to be able to buy a horse to hack out, and perhaps attend the odd hunt meet (although just trot along at the back). It seems he only way he will learn to ride is by buying a horse and getting lessons on it himself. Does anyone know of any riding centres that do take heavier riders, or is he just destined to end up with his own horse?

bailey14

Visit site
Sorry I don't know the answer to that one. If he were 16.5 stone and already a competent rider it would be differenet but a 16.5 stone unbalanced new beginner is a little too much to ask of a horse. What a shame you can't find anywhere for him. IMO it would be disasterous for him to go out and buy a horse without having gained experience with one on loan first. There is so much to know and learn about horses and he might be in for a bit of a shock if he knew how much work was involved. I suggest you try to find a 16hh heavyweight type on loan for him to be kept at the horses present yard so if he runs into trouble (which he will if he is on a sharp learning curve on his own) then there will be someone around to assist and who knows the horse.

zoeshiloh

Sorry, should have been clearer - he is very competent looking after horses on the ground, and very confident handling them etc. Horse would be stabled with me, and I would also ride anything he looked at to make sure it was 100% suitable for him. But, ideally I want him to ride at a riding school first, more because I don't want him to buy a horse, and then in a few months decide riding isn't really for him.

Woody78

Visit site