Rising to the canter...

GTs

Visit site
I am not an expert, but I believe it is a more fluid movement making it less strenuous for your horse. You can really feel the difference in your horses when rise and you will notice your horse does seem to have more in them.

watcherathome

Visit site
yes, because I have a very stiff lower back so cannot sit to a canter for very long..given my excessive weight it is probably kinder to the horse too!

Ginn

Visit site
[ QUOTE ]
I am not an expert, but I believe it is a more fluid movement making it less strenuous for your horse. You can really feel the difference in your horses when rise and you will notice your horse does seem to have more in them.

[/ QUOTE ]

Well it certainly is less strenous on my back, knees and thighs compared to a normal forward seat - yes I am VERY unfit - plan to start going to the gym as soon as I stop hurting from sat
smirk.gif
)

jayvee

Visit site
I do it sometimes when hunting, no reason just for the odd change I guess. I do it when trotting for long periods out hunting, usually when had enough of rising - up-down -up-down.. just settle to Hovering eventually!

jemima

Visit site
It can help relieve tension through the hip and knee and dramatically improve the "look" of a rider stiff in these areas who would otherwise slap the saddle.

It also relieves pressure on the horse's back - we were advised to use it on the long canters between obstacles on cross country courses as well as round larger showjumping tracks. It allows the horse to move more freely forward under the saddle.

KatB

Visit site
My trainer did it to bring the horses rhythm back, you can dictate pace in the same way you can trot. It brings them back on their bum without fighting with them, if they are that way inclined. He used to sit in forward position between fences, rise to the canter about 7 strides off, sit the last three and jump. Always looked effortless, and he NEVER missed!
smirk.gif

GTs

Visit site
[ QUOTE ]