Rotties and agility?

MrsMozart

Just passing through...
Visit site
Anyone done agility with their Rottie?

If yes, what age was the dog when you started? Any tips or suggestions?

A friend has suggested I take ours along with her two big dogs (roughly same age as mine, ten months), and her trainer. I've been reading up, but there's not a lot, that I've found anyway, on t'internet, so am looking for experienced bods views.

Both pups are good with others (dogs and humans), reasonable recall, heel, sit, stay. Both walked for an hour-ish a day, majority off lead.

joosie

Visit site
I'm not experienced in the slightest! - but I would have thought all the jumping wouldn't be good for its joints, don't Rotties tend to have joint problems?

cava14una

Visit site
I would be very careful with Rotties as they shouldn't be doing any jumping or weaving at that age. I would wait until they are about 18 months before you start anything like that.

You can start doing lots of control training also tunnels. You can do a bit of contact equipment with a ramp from the dog walk on the ground.

I have been out of agility too long to say much about training as methods will have moved on but basic safety should be the same.

I actually started agility training with the Scottish Rottweiler Club although I had a Boxer

3Beasties

Visit site
I don't know about rotties doing agilty specifically but I would find a local club that offers foundation classes. At their age the shouldn't be jumping but there is still no reason why they couldn't start learning about agilty now - ground work, tunnels, target work etc. There is plenty to work on without having to jump a jump or any other high impact work.

Be warned, it's addictive :D

Cahill

Visit site
i have a agility rottie,i didnt start until he was 4.
DSCF0083.jpg

Cahill

Visit site
DSCF4354.jpg

DSCF0494.jpg

he`s my first agility dog and has taught me so much.
these are our last 2 years results.

PapaverFollis

Visit site